Congratulations go out to both Broughty Athletic players Kieran Ross and Conor Samson after they both won the Dundee School’s Senior Shield at Hampden Park last night, starring for Dundee’s St John’s High School.

DSC_0885 (2)Conor Samson (pictured left) captained the team on the night and it was Kieran Ross (pictured below) who scored the winner for St John’s after 15 minutes of the game. Well done to both boys and their team. The report is below taken from the DSFA website…

Fri 22 Apr – A great night at Hampden for St.John’s who won the Senior Shield for the first time in their history and bring the magnificent trophy back to Dundee for the first time since 1976 when Harris were victorious.  A single goal after 15 minutes from Kieran Ross decided the contest. If it were not for a fantastic display of saves from the Bannerman HS keeper St.John’s could have scored four or five more.  Shortly after the goal the keeper tipped another shot onto the angle of bar and post to deny St.John’s a second goal.DSC_0563 (3) 

At 1-0, it only takes one mistake for it all to go wrong but St.John’s looked comfortable and unflustered by the big occasion. Bannerman only troubled the St.John’s defence a couple of times while St.John’s impressed all over the park and constantly looked for goals.

With time running out St.John’s did find the back of the net again but it was chalked off for offside.  Once the stadium clock stopped at 90:00 the time added on seemed to go on forever but the final whistle soon sounded and the celebrations could begin in earnest.

It was a thoroughly deserved win for St.John’s who learned the lessons of last year’s U16 Shield Final defeat against Boclair at Alloa and all the players played at the top of their form on the biggest stage of all, the national stadium at Hampden.  It was a night never to forget for the fans who supported the team in good numbers and for all the players who mounted the steps after the game to lift the huge shield.

The St.John’s team to go down in history is :
1. Robbie Telford, 2. Nicholas Scott, 3.Taylor Carroll, 4.Craig Adamson, 5. Logan Irvine, 6. Conor Samson (capt.), 7.Jonny Cartwright, 8. Kieran  Conway, 9.Kieran Ross, 10. Nathan Scott, 11. Connor Coupe, 12. Nabil Nadeem, 14. Ben Mitchell, 16 Craig Kemlo.
Managers Mr.McArtney and Mr.Fenton.